Allan Slaight Prize: Shortlist

Get to know our 2020 jury

The Allan Slaight Prize for Journalism celebrates journalistic achievements by contributors to The Walrus. Launched in 2017 by The Slaight Family Foundation, the $10,000 prize is awarded to an independent journalist for their work researching, analyzing, and writing about some of the most important topics of our time. A jury of industry specialists reviews more than fifty long-form articles published by The Walrus each year and selects a longlist of ten stories, a shortlist of three finalists, and the recipient of the prize.

Congratulations to the 2020 Allan Slaight Prize for Journalism shortlist:

A distinction between two worlds. One being a threat in the wild, the other a threat in an apartment building.

Your Brain on COVID-19


Fear, denial, panic buying: why our minds are not designed to process threats like the coronavirus pandemic

A phone screen with the image of Mackie Basil as the background.

The Search for Mackie Basil


Seven years ago, a young Indigenous woman from Tache, BC, went to a party and never came back. Her family won’t stop looking for her

Flower in a vase.

When Is a Senior No Longer Capable of Making Their Own Decisions?


How our medical systems strip elders of their autonomy

The full 2020 Allan Slaight Prize for Journalism longlist:

About the Jury

The Slaight Family Foundation

2017 Longlist